skip navigation
NMWAY Wrestling

Session 1 Updates | 2017 NCAA Championships

By Brenan Lyon, 03/16/17, 7:45PM EDT


Photo: Tony Rotundo

Brenan Lyon

Brenan Lyon


Championship Round 1 Highlights:


#1 Thomas Gilman (IOWA) scores early and often, cruising to a 19-6 major dec. over Brent Fleetwood (CMU)

#2 Joey Dance (VT) earns a 17-2 tech. fall over pigtail winner, Gabe Townsell (STAN)

#4 Darian Cruz (LU) made quick work of former All-American Dylan Peters (UNI) earning a fall in 0:52

#6 Ethan Lizak (MINN) held on for a 10-8 decision over Christian Moody (OU); Lizak led this bout 7-0

#14 Freddie Rodriguez (SIUE) had one of the most impressive showings in round one, earning a first period tech. fall over Vito Pisone (APST)

#8 Nick Piccininni (OSU) recorded a fall over Elijah Oliver (IU)

Conor Youtsey (UM) falls to Drew Templeman (WYO)

Sean Fausz (NCST) WBF Noah Gonser (EMU) 3:19

Shakur Laney (OU) dec. S. Nickell (CSUB) 10-5


#1 Nathan Tomasello (OSU) rolled to a 13-4 major decision Korbin Meyers (EU)

#2 Seth Gross (SDSU) controlled the match for a 5-0 victory over Billy Rappo (MD)

#3 Kaid Brock (OSU) was pushed early, but opened up the scoring late for a 12-4 major dec. over Scott Delvecchio (RUT)

#4 Cory Clark (IOWA) blanked Connor Schram (STAN) 4-0 in a battle of returning All-Americans

#5 Stevan Micic (UM) cruised to a 10-3 decision over Chris Debian (CHAT)

#9 Scotty Parker (LU) picked up an 11-3 major dec. over Colby Smith (APST)

#14 Mitch McKee (MINN) opened his first NCAA tournament with a fall over Rico Montoya (UNCO)


#1 seed and returning NCAA champ Dean Heil (OSU) survived a tough first round match, winning 6-5 against Brock Zacherl (CLAR)

#2 Kevin Jack (NCST) posted a convincing 10-0 major dec. over Ronald Perry (LHU) in the first round

#3 Joey McKenna (STAN) controlled the match for a 5-0 victory of Dylan Caruana (BING)

#4 Matthew Kolodzick (PRIN) dec. Ryan Diehl (MD) 8-3

Jack Hathaway (ORST) picked up the biggest upset so far with a second period fall over #7 Joey Ward (UNC)

Jimmy Gullibon (PSU) earned a tech. fall over Javier Gasca (MSU)

#10 Bryce Meredith (WYO) major dec. Mike Longo (OU) 10-0

#12 Luke Pletcher (OSU) dec. Salvator Profaci (UM) 8-5


#1 Zain Retherford (PSU) wins in dominating fashion, 19-2 against Josh Maruca (ASU)

#2 Anthony Collica (OKST) cruised to an 11-2 major dec. over Cole Mendenhall (WYO)

#3 Lavion Mayes (MIZZ) dec. Sahid Kargbo (GMU) 8-3

#4 Micah Jordan (OSU) earned a dominating tech. fall in round one against Troy Heilmann (UNC) 22-6

#5 Brandon Sorenson (IOWA) earned bonus points for the Hawkeyes with a first period fall over Matthew Zovistoski (APST) 2:11

#9 Justin Oliver (CMU) earned a second period fall over Eric Barone (ILL) 4:47

Andrew Crone (WISC) pulls a mild upset, beating #12 Sam Speno (NCST) at 149 pounds.

#16 Jordan Laster (PRIN) dec. Nick Barber (EMU) 5-2


#1 Jason Nolf (Penn State) rolled to a 22-7 technical fall over Thomas Bullard (NC State) at 157 pounds

#2 Michael Kemerer (IOWA) was impressive in his NCAA debut, getting a major dec. over Jake Danishek (IU) 14-3

#3 Joey Lavallee (MIZZ) made quick work of Aaron Walker (CIT) by way of fall in 1:27

#4 Tyler Berger (NEB) dec. Ryan Mosley (GW) 9-2

Paul Fox (STAN) knocked off #6 Clayton Ream (NDSU) 8-4 at 157 pounds. Ream is the highest seed (excluding med. forfeits) to lose in the first round

#7 Dylan Palacio (COR) moves on to the second round with a 9-1 major decision victory over ACC champion Taleb Rahmani (PITT)

#10 Colin Heffernan (CMU) scored a takedown in sudden victory to edge Andrew Atkinson (UV)


Two-time NCAA champion Isaiah Martinez (ILL) opened with a 14-4 major decision victory over Shaun'Qa McMurtry (NIU)

#2 Logan Massa (UM) does what Logan Massa does, earning a tech. fall over Seldon Wright (ODU) 19-3

#3 Vincenzo Joseph (PSU) controlled Keaton Subjeck (STAN) in a 5-1 victory.  Joseph avenges his earlier season loss to Subjeck

NCAA runner-up Isaac Jordan (UW) advanced to the second round by beating Lorenzo De La Riva (CSUB) by major decision, 11-2

#5 Chad Walsh (RU) major dec. Johnny Sebastian (NW) 8-0

#6 Daniel Lewis (MIZZ) major dec. Luke Zilverberg (SDSU) 8-0

#13 Brandon Womack (Cornell) hammered Joey Gunther (Iowa) 12-3

#15 Drew Hughes (MSU) dec. Kellan Torres (UNCO) 6-0


#1 Zahid Valencia (ASU) rolled to a 19-5 major dec. victory over Chris Pfarr (MINN)

#2 Brian Realbuto (COR) earned a tech. fall over Devin Skatzka (IU) 19-4

#3 Bo Jordan (OSU) posted a 10-1 major dec. over Josef Johnson (HAR)

#4 Zach Epperly (VT) controlled his bout for an 8-1 dec. over Nick Reenan (NCST)

#5 Mark Hall (PSU), the nation's No. 1 recruit in 2016, opened his NCAA tournament with an 8-2 win over David Kocer (SDSU)

Jake Residori (SIUE) upset the #7 seed Kyle Crutchmer (OKST) 6-5

#9 Myles Amine (UM) dec. Ty Schoffstall (EDIN) 6-4

Jadaen Bernstein (NAVY) knocked off No. 12 Casey Kent (PENN) at 174 pounds.

#15 Lelund Weatherspoon (ISU) dec. Peter Galli (STAN) 3-1


#1 Gabe Dean (COR) earned a 21-12 major dec. over Michael Coleman (NAVY)

#2 Bo Nickal (PSU), a returning NCAA runner-up, was unchallenged in his opening bout as he claimed a 15-0 tech. fall over Mitch Sliga (NW)

In a Big Ten battle, #3 Sammy Brooks (IOWA) topped Nick Gravina (RUT) 7-3

#4 Nolan Boyd (OKST) controlled Hunter Ritter (WISC) for a 7-1 win

#6 Myles Martin (OSU) put on a show, posting a 23-10 major dec. over Garrett Hoffman (BUCK)

#7 seed and NCAA runner-up T.J. Dudley (NEB) rolled to a tech. fall over victory over Michale Fagg-Daves (RU)

#16 Jordan Ellingwood (CMU) blanked Christian LaFragola (BROWN) 6-0


#1 seed and Olympic bronze medalist J'den Cox (MIZZ) advanced to the second round after pinning Jeric Kasunic (AMER) 2:20

#2 Brett Pfarr (MINN) major dec. Matt Correnti (RUT) 11-3

#3 Collin Moore (OSU) major dec. Malik McDonald (NCST) 16-6

#4 Jared Haught (VT) dec. Matt Williams (CSUB) 4-1

#5 Matt McCutcheon gave Penn State a bonus point victory as he pinned Christian Brunner (PU) 1:53

#6 Preston Weigel (OKST) cruised to a 7-0 victory over Marcus Harrington (ISU)

Cash Wilcke (IOWA) upset #13 Tom Sleigh (BUCK) 4-2 in sudden victory

Steban Cervantes (NAVY) upset #16 Austin Severn (CMU) 6-4 in overtime


#1 seed and Olympic champion Kyle Snyder (OSU) was dominant in a 25-10 tech. fall victory over Jake Gunning (BUFF)

#2 Connor Medbery (WISC) moved on to the round of 16 with a convincing 14-1 major decision victory over Ray O'Donnell (PRIN)

#3 Ty Walz (VT) put together a strong opening match, winning 11-4 over Benjamin Tynan (NDSU)

#4 Jacob Kasper (DUKE) dec. Gage Hutchinson (EMU) 5-0

Nick Nevills (PSU), seeded #5, won a hard-fought victory, 4-2, over Doug Vollaro (LU)

#7 Tanner Hall (ASU) was pushed in his first match, but came out on top 4-2 against Dustin Dennison (UVU)

In the final match of Session I, No. 10 Nathan Butler (STAN) edged Joey Goodhart (DREX) 3-3 victory in the second tiebreaker. The difference was 4 seconds of riding time.

Conan Jennings (NW) scored a mild upset, 4-0, over No. 11 Jared Johnson (CHAT)

GFC All-State Entries

By MI Grappler 09/12/2017, 7:00am EDT

Las Vegas 'Freak Show' registration now open

By NUWAY staff 07/13/2014, 11:45pm EDT

Be part of the nation's quickest growing tournament

Registration for the NUWAY Southwest Kickoff Classic aka 'The Freak Show' is now open.  

The past two years the event has attracted elite competition from all corners of the United States in each age division.  Nationally ranked wrestlers have flocked to Vegas each year to compete for the illustrious 'Freak Show' title.  

DATES:  October 31 - November 2, 2014

VENUE:  Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino



TOURNAMENT CONTACT:  Ronnie Chandler & Denise Sageman

HOTEL INFORMATION:  Rio Hotel  Promo Code:  SRUSA4  

michgrappler Michigan Grappler michgrappler